Week 12: Pops of color

Critique: Host cover color

Screen shot 2014-04-17 at 10.34.39 PM Screen shot 2014-04-15 at 1.00.23 AM Screen shot 2014-04-13 at 5.02.04 PM

In the first round of Meredith presentation Erica and John said they wanted to see more color on the cover of Host, which seems easy enough. However, I have learned that picking the right color combination is a difficult task. Orange was originally suggested, but it seems too Halloweenie to me and a lot of other colors, such as purple and red, don’t stand out against the chalkboard background. So far yellow is my favorite. In class on Tuesday, Erica and Libby suggested I add another color into the mix, so I have been working on finding the perfect shade. If anyone has any suggests of a good color to use with the yellow gold color, it would be greatly appreciated. It’s hard to find a complementary color that will show up and still feel fallish.

You Can’t Miss: Headless Wonder

Screen shot 2014-04-17 at 10.32.05 PM Screen shot 2014-04-17 at 10.31.55 PM

These photo were originally used for headshots. The part you see was originally discarded, but they are so beautiful and interesting as they are now. I think it really shows how inspiration is all around us. Even things we think are trash can turn into art if you look at them with a different perspective. I love all the rich colors in these photos. Much more exciting backgrounds than any head shots I have had done.

Photo Inspiration: summery sangria 

Screen shot 2014-04-17 at 10.27.37 PM

Last Saturday I spent the afternoon walking around St. Louis’s Central West End with my sister enjoying the warm weather. We stopped for pizza and Sangria at Pi. I love this photo for the colors, but also I find the light very interesting and inviting.

2 thoughts on “Week 12: Pops of color

  1. The yellow is my favorite cover option as well. I’m not sure what other color I’d add…I like pairing that gold with navy, but that might look weird on the black. Maybe a brighter blue but not too much that you lose Fall? I also really like the anti head shots you shared. I think that could make a cool cover concept for the right story.

  2. Lauren says:

    I love your Host cover! The chalkboard and typography is so playful. Congrats, I know you guys are happy to be done like we are! 🙂 I see that you’ve been indulging in sangria like me with the warmer weather… so good!

Leave a Reply

