Week 11:

Critique: Department page for Host

Screen shot 2014-04-10 at 11.37.18 PM

I’ve been working on tweaking the department layouts for Host. There isn’t much content to work with on the page. At first I thought this was great because it meant a lot of full bleed photos, but as we have been designing, I have realized that it can make the pages boring when there aren’t a lot of text elements. I’m still working on the flag. It’s better, but I’m not completely satisfied with it.

 

You Can’t Miss: Cosmopolitan’s first ever sponsored cover.

photo 1 photo 2

When I saw this issue lying on my roommates bed, I grabbed it in astonishment thinking Cosmopolitan had forgone their traditional 3/4 body crop and redesigned their cover. I was very pleased and loved the simpler look of the cover. Then, I peeled it away to reveal the real cover of the May 2014 issue, which is very must true to traditional Cosmo style.  I have since figured out that the cover I first saw was a sponsored by Loreal, and Cosmo’s first paid cover. I don’t know how I feel about a sponsored cover. It takes away the idea that a magazine sales are based on its content and makes people pick up the magazine based off the advertisement. What do you all think?

Photo Inspiration: Spring!

Screen shot 2014-04-10 at 11.32.43 PM

Spring has FINALLY sprung in Columbia, and I am loving all the flowers around town. They have really inspired me to bring more life into my designs. I love the watercolor tones on this photo.

 

2 thoughts on “Week 11:

  1. The sponsored cover thing is odd to me, but I have to agree with you that it is striking and would likely be more successful in getting me to pick up the magazine than the real cover.

  2. Raquel says:

    Yeah, that’s weird having a sponsored COVER, that must have cost Loreal a fortune. But does it say something that essentially the cover ad is more eye-catching and interestingly designed than the real Cosmo cover? Haha, I’d for sure say Cosmo is stuck in a rut.

Leave a Reply

