Week 8: Half way????

Critique: Collectors package

cover opener spread 2 spread 3For the most part, I’m very happy with how my collectors feature design is shaping up. I’m still not completely satisfied with my cover ( I really like my mock up better), but I think Lauren was right that the pop of red is missing. So, I’m going to try to play with that and see if it helps. Erica is also right that I need to vary the sizes a little more. I think I’m going to eliminate a few of the items to give some room to increase the size of some.

I think my spread designs have vastly improved from last week and I’m pretty satisfied with them. With the opener, I wanted to make it similar to the cover, so people would know what they are looking at; however, I think the class was right that it’s not different enough. I might try to find some different items to use and also the black slab across the page for the intro.

You Can’t Miss: Airbnb design fellowship program

airbnb_800px

I’m going to use this space to share an internshipish opportunity.

If you haven’t heard of Airbnb, it’s this really awesome website that lets you rent people’s beautiful apartments instead of staying in smelly hotels when travelling. Kinda sounds creepy if you have never done it, but we used it all the time in Europe and loved it.

The company is based out of San Francisco, the fellowship program is 6 months with their design department, and it’s only for people who have graduated within the past 18 months (yay me!). I don’t believe it is paid, but I could be wrong. However, they do put you up in accommodations for free, and you are guaranteed at least one major project for your portfolio and a mentor. Not to mention, it’s an extremely growing and awesome company. If this tells you anything, my cousin’s friend (you can thank her for bring this to my attention) stopped working at Netflix to work here.

Anyways, check it out, even if just to look at the cool interactive yurt graphic. Here’s the link: https://www.airbnb.com/jobs/departments/position/5156

Photo inspiration: Colorful from a young age

look at me

So one thing Erica and I talked about in my portfolio review, is my love for color. I had never really thought about it before, but I have clearly had this deep rainbow desire for my entire life. Perhaps, I use this photo of my ski bunny self as inspiration everyday.

5 thoughts on “Week 8: Half way????

  1. Lauren says:

    LOVE your Collections cover and thanks for sharing the airbnb fellowship program position. I would’ve never imagined that airbnb would have a design fellowship or that it would be an amazing place to work, but who knows, from the design of the page for the fellowship, it looks pretty amazing!

  2. jatiffchoi says:

    I love your use of color in Collectors cover & spreads—and in your childhood photo! Your Collectors design is very unique and eye-catching. I agree that the cover and the splash page look a little too similar and it might confuse the readers, but I can’t wait to see your final product. And thanks for sharing the Airbnb page. I really enjoyed the little yurt graphic.

  3. Janelle Pfeifer says:

    Your collection cover looks awesome. Your use of color and the cut outs is really interesting. It could have been such a busy and crazy spread with all the colors but you did a great job of honing it all in and creating something beautiful and simple with elements of edginess…if that makes any sense.

    Your photo took me back to the 90s with my terrible blond bangs and overly colorful wardrobe…what a time to be growing up.

  4. You’re collection feature turned out so great! The colors and the fun pictures gives it a light-hearted feel and I think that Vox readers will really respond to it well. Also, I had a pink ski jacket like that back in the day. Bringing back some fun memories!

  5. Jessie Lueck says:

    So I’m not eligible for that Airbnb fellowship (yet), but that info graphic was amazing! I have no idea how they did that, but I would apply just from seeing that. I’m impressed, yet intimidated. I’ll have to look out to see if they have the fellowship starting in January so I can try it out after I graduate next semester. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

