Week 7: minion mania

Critique: Collectors package design 

collectors cover 1 Screen shot 2014-03-06 at 5.41.21 PM Screen shot 2014-03-06 at 5.41.32 PM

I’m very happy with how my feature cover turned out. The concept came to me pretty much the moment I learned what feature I was designing. I know Erica says that usually our first idea isn’t our best, but in this case, I’m really glad I went with my gut. I’m not as happy with the feature, but I think it will be easier to design once I have the photos, know the number of pages I have, and know the stories that will run in print. Right now it’s just a little boring.

You Can’t Miss: Wired’s March cover. 

Screen shot 2014-03-06 at 5.50.14 PM

I have beens staring at this cover on the newsstand for weeks now, and I was so glad to see it be features as one of SPD’s cover of the day. I love pretty much everything about it, from his expression to the pink background. It’s so fresh and happy; it makes me wish for spring. I think it is a great example that it is possible to use a lot of color in an effective manner. The subtle textures are very nice too.

True/False Review: The Unknown Known

I went to see The Unknown Known on Sunday of T/F weekend. I honestly didn’t know what to expect going into the movie because I didn’t do much research on it before hand. The documentary was basically an interview with Donald Rumsfeld about his time as a Secretary of Defense and his involvement in the Iraq war. The underlining theme (and reason for the name of the film) is the idea that there are things we know, things we don’t know we don’t know and things we know we don’t know. However, there are also things we think we known that we do not know, unknown knowns. He applied this to the Iraq war and his foreign policy. The cinematography was beautiful, and the director Errol Morris did a great job of making what could be a very visually boring documentary interesting to watch. I appreciated Morris’s ability to make Rumsfeld’s concepts easy to understand and follow. My only critique is that the documentary seemed to leave a lot of unanswered questions, but I suppose that stays very true to politicians in general.

Photo inspiration: Colorful chair. 

photo-25This chair is in my room and actually helped to inspire my feature design. The contrast of the pink pillow and colorful quilt against the white made me decide to use a white background for my cover because it really makes the colors pop. Who knew my mom’s old chair would do more for me than just hold my cast off clothes?

3 thoughts on “Week 7: minion mania

  1. I also think your cover turned out very, very well. I’ll echo Breanna’s statement: it reminds me of an I Spy page, and I think it totally fits with the collector’s theme. I actually especially like the “Collectors” font. It just reads well, is interesting and fits the tone of the scattered, colorful cover and story theme.

  2. I love that everything you do/are inspired by have such bright fun colors. I am beginning to be able to recognize your work among other designs, which is cool. I also really like this Wired cover because of the colors. I also really liked your grinding design this week (I was there during the critique). I thought the brightness of your designs fit well with the grinding story.

  3. qing_tian says:

    I love the Wired cover too! I really like the texture of the beard, and how it blends into the background colors. I think it is an example of how the cover looks simple, yet it has so many details for further investigations and studies.

Leave a Reply

