Week 6: Prototypes, Potter & Pastels

Critique: Host magazine prototypes

Host Cover Host department page host feature

It was really hard for me to start designing my prototypes because I was not entirely sure which direction the publishers were wanting to take the magazine. They said they wanted their target market to be women 25-40 but also men, and they didn’t know if they wanted to focus more on drinks or entertaining. I decided to design my prototypes more like a city or regional magazine because they tend to be more gender neutral than most entertainment magazines. With the cover and name plate, I wanted to keep it simple but bold to catch people’s attention. With the department page I just tried to keep it organized and easy to move around the page. The feature I had a little more fun with designing. The thanksgiving story made me want to focus more on the food, and I chose to make the title look stamped onto the table to add texture and personality. I’m still not completely satisfied with my designs. I would like them to be a little bolder and texturized, especially if they decided to focus more on the alcohol, but I think we have a nice start, and hopefully our publishers will have some decisions made when we meet next.

You Can’t Miss: Eye Magazine‘s “Graphic design method acting” i.e. Harry Potter!

The Daily Prophet, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, 2005. and narrative.

The Daily Prophet, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, 2005.
and narrative.

I, like many of you I’m sure, grew up with Harry Potter. My mom read the first few book aloud to me, I finished the series myself, have seen all the movies and was severely disappointed when I did not receive a letter on my 11th birthday congratulating me on my acceptance to Hogwarts. The series was a large part of my childhood to say the least, so I was extremely pleased to read this article in Eye Magazine about all the graphics used in the movies. From the newspapers to the “Weasleys’ Wizard Wheezes,” all props were designed in full by designers Miraphora Mina and Eduardo Lima. The graphics they designed not only brought this beloved story to life but they helped to shape our childhoods.

If you want to see some of the designs close up, hop across the pond to the Warner Brothers’ Harry Potter Studio in the UK. Getting to see all the details that went into each newspaper and book was one of my favorite parts of the experience.

Photo Inspiration: Colorful Colorado

Colorful Colorado

Colorado is one of my favorite places in the world for many reason; one of which is how beautiful it is with inspiration bursting everywhere you turn. I love the contrast of the black with the pastel colors and the organic mix of the blues, oranges and pinks in this sunrise photo. It made the 5 a.m. car ride a little better.

7 thoughts on “Week 6: Prototypes, Potter & Pastels

  1. Lauren says:

    I liked your approach to Host, particularly your unique “H” pendant (I don’t know what else to call it)… Also, my favorite part was your Thanksgiving spread… so lovely.

    Just want to say that my love for Harry Potter will never ever die. I’m thinking about re-reading all the books (I don’t think I ever finished the last 2 or 3), and a huge part of why I loved the books was the design and illustrations. Thanks for keeping Harry Potter love alive!

  2. I think you did a great job with the prototype despite the lack of decisiveness of the publishers. Hopefully everything falls into place soon! I also visited the Warner Bros. Harry Potter place while we were in London and I was seriously geeking out. Would there be a better job than literally designing everything for the Harry Potter films? Not really.

  3. Janelle Pfeifer says:

    I just commented on Qing’s blog and I think it’s interested that you both had a blackboard look somewhere in you publication. Maybe you just wanted it to look like a gray background, but your cover does remind me of a blackboard. And I think that would be something cool to utilize in your final design.
    Oh Harry Potter, how I miss thee. I’ve actually always loved the way that the Harry Potter films have looked, right down to the typography of the Daily Prophet, and all the academic textbooks. I bet doing photo editing and illustrations are a lot easier though in the wizarding world…

  4. qing_tian says:

    It is really interesting that we utilized a lot of common elements in our design, and I am pretty confident that our final product will look awesome. And I love your photo of the sky in Colorado. I have seen really pretty skies in Como for the past few years, which looked like fairy tales. But I never thought about utilizing them in designs. Thanks for the reminder.

  5. jatiffchoi says:

    I think it’s great that you chose a limited number of colors for your prototype and made them so eye-catching. My favorite part is the illustrations for ‘Tito’s Technique’ section—it’s really fun and easy to follow! Thank you for bringing back Harry Potter… a lot of memories for our generation. I think I should have a Harry Potter movie marathon soon!

  6. I really enjoyed your spreads for the prototype as well. Host left a lot of questions in my mind when I first heard the concept. But as I see your designs, I see where y’all are headed, and I like it. Keep up the good work.

  7. Wow, the Thanksgiving spread looks really great. The green you used to highlight specific elements of the story works perfectly with the photo, and I think you did a great job of fitting the text onto a photo of delicious food while still making the typography interesting and not in the way of the image. Also, Miraphora Mina? With that name, she’s gotta be a witch.

Leave a Reply

