Week two: Snowed in with typography

Critique: A blizzard outside meant I only had one day of actual classes this week and extra time to obsess over my typography assignment. Garamond is a very elegant and old-face type, so I did not want to clutter my handout. I wanted it to have a very clean feel, so people could really appreciate the font.

Pre garamond

Originally, I had the “Garamonds” in black, but it felt a little boring. Although it is an old font, I wanted to show it can be used in a young, fresh way and not just for body text. I pulled the teal and yellow from the Dr. Seuss example because I found the color palette very inspirational. I layered the bold, italics and roman on top of each other to show the weight variations and how they differ. I think it ended up being very affective but still visually pleasing. I used the &, W, and Q as line breaks because these are the only three letters considered to be fancy, and I thought they showed off the typeface better than three lines. My design is a little too simple, but I didn’t want to overwhelm the reader. Garamond

You Can’t Miss: The Hollywood Reporter Jay Leno cover

This cover won SPD’s cover of the day on Monday, but that’s not the only reason it’s noteworthy. I have always been a fan of handwriting mixed with photography, but it can be very difficult to pull off, especially when it is more than just the title. By breaking up the text on poster boards, it makes it easy for the reader to understand and find the cover lines, but it still has the artsy and imperfect feel of handwriting. They type is organic but easy to read, and using a few different colors gives the reader multiple entry points. It’s also a nice touch that Jay Leno is holding the coverline for his story. It makes it easy for the reader to know why he is on the cover. I commend The Hollywood Reporter for a great design and stepping outside the design realm that is typical for Hollywood gossip magazine. hollywood You Can’t Miss: Typography for sale

What does Antique Road Show have to do with typography? Well, in this past month quite a bit. In the episode of the BBC TV show that aired on Jan. 5, 2014, Paul Atterbury inspected original type drawings salvaged from Linotype and Machinery. Atterbury suggested that the piece might sell for  £5 a piece of  £3,000 for the set, which is part of a collection of 100,000. Others have been selling in Anthropologie store for close to  £40. Who knew type was so valuable?
Antique Road Show

The show  brought to light the issue: if splitting up the collection is ruining it or sharing the beauty. Are the type pieces better split up amongst type lover for their enjoyment or kept together as a collection that students could use as a resource when learning about typography? They offer detail about hot metaling and allow for context of how different types differ exactly. I have to say after doing our typography assignment, I would love to have one of these hanging on my wall. They really pay tribute to the art of typography. Antique Road Show

Photo inspiration: Pug-in-a-blanket

If you know me at all, you know I’m obsessed with my only niece, Pippa, the practically perfect pug. She is full of life and vigor that I try to channel whenever I am feeling lazy. I took this photo when I visited my sister last weekend. I think the rawness of the lighting and the slight tilt is very inspiring. I love the dated Polaroid idea. It’s something I’m playing with in my T/F design.
Pug in a blanket

2 thoughts on “Week two: Snowed in with typography

  1. I love the design; I think old Claude would be proud. I mean how can you not love Dr. Suess, right? Also the Antique Roadshow find was amazing. And I love The Hollywood Reporter cover. I have been following the Jay Leno/Jimmy Fallon switch pretty closely. I’m torn because I love both of them. But this cover captures the humor, the personality, the sadness and the amazingness that is Jay Leno.

  2. JenniferLiu says:

    I remember when I worked on staff of my high school’s lit mag, our body copy was always in Garamond. Since then, I’ve always liked it just for the sake that it looks really nice. Looking at your design, you almost wouldn’t think that the font is so old. I like that you spruced it up with the color (not to mention from a Dr. Suess book, no less). The overlapping of the G’s add movement to the page. It almost looks electric and modern. It’s so clever the way you arranged your images and type to mimic the stairs in the Dr. Suess illustration.

    I really like the look of the hand drawn text on the Hollywood Reporter cover. I know Esquire does this a lot, but this cover works in its own way. How do you feature a comedian on the cover without going for the obvious? I love designs that incorporate handwriting just because, when executed well, it gives the design intimacy and authenticity.

Leave a Reply

